

## City of Conway, Arkansas City Council Meeting Summary December 10<sup>th</sup>, 2024

www.conwayarkansas.gov

On this date the City Council of the City of Conway, Arkansas met in regular session. The following members being a quorum were present and acting; Alderman Hawkins, Alderman Grimes, Alderwoman Mehl, Alderman Cummins, Alderman Ledbetter, Alderman Hawks, Alderman Jones, & Alderwoman Isby. Also, present and acting: Mayor Bart Castleberry, & City Attorney Charles Finkenbinder, & City Clerk Michael O. Garrett.

## **Resolution Passed** R-24-61 Resolution approving the application for the FEMA "Assistance to Firefighters" Grant Program. Vote 8-0 R-24-62 Resolution approving the use of Federal Aid Funds for the Highway 65/Robins St. Improvements. Vote 8-0 **Ordinances Passed:** O-24-86 Ordinance appropriating funds in the amount of \$1,007,016.50 and accepting the lowest bid for JCI Construction for the Prince Street and Country Club Roundabout project. Vote 8-0 O-24-87 Ordinance appropriating funds in the amount of \$250 for the Conway Tree Board. Vote 8-0 O-24-88 Ordinance approving the rezoning of property located at 377 Reedy Rd from R-1 to R-2A. Vote 8-0 O-24-89 Ordinance approving the creation of a Downtown Entertainment District. Vote 7-1 Alderman Jones voting against. O-24-90 Ordinance approving the private club permit location for Chuy's of Conway, Inc. located at 500 S. Amity, Conway, AR 72032. Vote 8-0 O-24-91 Ordinance approving the creation of all personnel for the Conway Community Center. Vote 8-0 0-24-92 Ordinance adopting the FY2025 Budget for the City of Conway. Vote 8-0 Other Actions: November 26<sup>th</sup>, 2024, City Council Minutes. Vote 8-0 Approved Approved Waiving of the three readings for the ordinances on the December 10th, 2024, City Council agenda. Vote 8-0 Approved Nominations for Annual Boards and Commissions. Vote 8-0 Advertising and Promotion Commission – 4-year term Mike Coats Term expires May 31, 2028 Airport Advisory Committee – 4-year term Robert Gunn Term expires December 31, 2028 Chris Tyler Term expires December 31, 2028 Bicycle & Pedestrian Advisory Board – 3-year term

Term expires December 31, 2027

Beau Theriot

		0	Teresa Ann Garrett	Term expires December 31, 2027
		☐ Civil Service Commission – 6-year term		
		0	Courtney Kennedy	Term expires April 1 <sup>st</sup> , 2030
		☐ Conway Tree Board – 3-year term		
		0	Robert Eric Bell	Term expires December 31, 2027
		0	Tyler Moses	Term expires December 31, 2027
		0	Gabriella Stanford	Term expires December 31, 2027
		☐ Diversity Advisory Council – 4-year term		
		0	Meg Hawkins	Term expires December 31, 2028
	<ul> <li>Karisa McAlister Term expires December 31, 2028</li> </ul>			xpires December 31, 2028
		☐ Historic District Commission – 3-year term		
		0	Marilyn Moix	Term expires December 31, 2027
		<ul> <li>Jason Covington Term expires December 31, 2027</li> </ul>		
		☐ Oak Grove Cemetery – 5-year term		
		0	Van Lamar	Term expires December 31, 2029
		☐ Planning Commission – 5-year term		
		0	Kevin Gambrill	Term expires December 31, 2029
		0	Cassidy Cook	Term expires December 31, 2029
		☐ Public Art Advisory Committee – 2-year term		
		0	Kasey Jordan	Term expires December 31, 2026
		0	Morgan Lefler	Term expires December 31, 2026
		0	Christian Cutler Term ex	xpires December 31, 2026
Approved	Consideration to approve a conditional use permit to allow MF-1 density in the R-2A zone for property located at 377 Reedy Rd. <i>Vote 8-0</i>			
Approved	Consideration to approve a major modification request for property located at 1301 E. Dave Ward Drive. <i>Vote 8-0</i>			
Approved	The cancellation of the December 24 <sup>th</sup> , 2024, City Council meeting. <b>Vote 8-0</b>			
Next City Council meeting will be Tuesday, January 14 <sup>th</sup> , 2025  Deadline for agenda items – January 7 <sup>th</sup> , 2025				