

City of Conway, Arkansas Resolution No. R-15-63

A RESOLUTION AUTHORIZING THE MILLAGE RATE OF A VOLUNTARY PROPERTY TAX FOR THE PURPOSE OF OPPERATING THE CITY OF CONWAY ANIMAL WELFARE SHELTER, FOR THE YEAR 2015 TO BE COLLECTED IN 2016

Whereas, Ark. Code Ann. § 26-25-102 provides that a city may levy a voluntary property tax on the real and personal property located within the city for the <u>City of Conway Animal Welfare Shelter</u>, in any one year, pursuant to the provisions of the Arkansas Constitution; and

Whereas, Ark. Code Ann. § 26-73-202 requires the City Council of any municipal corporation to make out and certify to the county clerk the rate of taxation levied by the city on all the real and personal property within the city; and

Whereas, by vote of the electors of the City of Conway, Arkansas, at Special Election held on November 5th, 1968, and that the Mayor is hereby ordered and directed to certify the same to the County Clerk, and authorize the Quorum Court of Faulkner County to levy said tax for the year 2015 to be collected in 2016.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CONWAY, ARKANSAS:

Section 1: The voluntary property tax rate for the City of Conway Animal Welfare Shelter on the real and personal property situated within the city and to be collected in the year 2015 shall be fixed and levied at the rate of **Two Tenth's (.2)** mill on each dollar of assessed value of real and personal property.

Section 2: The rate of taxation levied herein on the real and personal property within the city shall, by this Resolution, be certified to the County Clerk to be placed upon the tax books and collected in the same manner that the state and county taxes are collected.

Section 3: The Quorum Court of Faulkner County is hereby authorized to levy the said tax as set forth herein for real and personal property located within the City of Conway, for the year 2015, to be collected in 2016, at its regular meeting in November according to law.

Passed this 10th day of November, 2015.

Approved:

Mayor Tab Townsell

Attest:

Michael O. Garrett City/Clerk Treasurer