## R-80-50

## RESOLUTION OF COMMENDATION

WHEREAS, THE 1980 UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL ARKANSAS BEARS FOOTBALL TEAM WON THE ARKANSAS INTERCOLLEGIATE CONFERENCE CHAMPION-SHIP WITH A PERFECT RECORD OF SIX WINS AND NO LOSSES; AND

WHEREAS, THE 1980 BEARS COMPILED THE BEST REGULAR-SEASON RECORD IN THE HISTORY OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CENTRAL ARKANSAS BY WINNING NINE GAMES AND LOSING NONE; AND

WHEREAS, THE 1980 BEARS RANKED NO. 1 IN THE NATIONAL Association of Intercollegiate Athletics final regular-season poll for the first time in the history of the University of Central Arkansas; and

WHEREAS, THE 1980 BEARS ARE THE FIRST TEAM IN THE HISTORY OF THE ARKANSAS INTERCOLLEGIATE CONFERENCE TO MAKE THE NATIONAL Association of Intercollegiate Athletics football playoffs three TIMES; AND

WHEREAS, THE 1980 BEARS AND THEIR COACHES, KEN STEPHENS, RONNIE KERR, PAUL SHARP, RICHARD MARTIN, LARRY SMITH, DAVE VOTH, Tom McConnaughey and Chuck Rainey have brought unprecedented honor to themselves, the University of Central Arkansas, the City of Conway, the County of Faulkner and the State of Arkansas.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF CONWAY, ARANSAS THAT:

We commend the 1980 University of Central Arknasas Bears football team for its outstanding accomplishments and urge all citizens to take cognizance of this resolution.

PASSED THIS 25TH DAY OF NOVEMBER, 1980.

BILL WRIGHT, MAYOR

ALDERMAN FRANK MOIX

ALDERMAN MAURICE MOIX

ALDERMAN JOHN THOMPSON

ALDERMAN BENTON SEVIER

ALDERMAN HAROLD LOVE

ALDERMAN JAMES CLARK

ALDERMAN LUKE GORDY

ALDERMAN JIM WHITE

DORIS NUNN, CLERK-TREASURER