The regular meeting of the Conway Historic District Commission was held on Monday, September 28, 2020 via Zoom. The following members, being a quorum, were present and acting; Steve Hurd, Margaret West, Taylor Martin, Emily Walter, Liz Hamilton, and Shelby Fiegel. David Carolina was absent.

The August meeting minutes were approved 5-0-1 on a motion made by Margaret West and seconded by Liz Hamilton. Chairman did not vote.

I. Public Hearings - Old Conway Design Overlay District (Old Business)

A. 517 Fifth Street - New Single-Family Residence (review postponed pending additional information from applicant)

II. Public Hearings - Old Conway Design Overlay District New Business

A. 925 Mitchell Street - Walkway Addition

Saint Peter's Episcopal Church (applicant) is proposing to replace the existing classroom space, bridging the church's old (Parish Hall) and new sanctuaries, with a new 1,450 square foot open air walkway/pavilion common to ecclesial architecture of traditional mainline Protestant churches. Architect Steve Hurd spoke about the project, therefore Emily Walter stepped in as acting Chairman of the Commission.

Conway Planning Department staff recommended approval of the project with no additional recommendations.

Taylor Martin motioned to approve; Shelby Fiegel seconded the motion. The motion passed 4-0-2; acting Chairman Emily Walter did not vote.

B. 2009 Prince Street - New Accessory Structure + Exterior Modifications to Primary Residence (review postponed at request of applicant)

C. 516 Ash Street - New Single-Family Residence (review postponed at request of applicant)

D. Historic Preservation Plan

Acceptance of the Conway Citywide Historic Preservation Plan. Link to draft plan presentation.

Planning Director James Walden asked to provide more time for commissioners to review the draft plan and continue the hearing to next month. Shelby Fiegel motioned to continue the hearing to next month, Emily Walter seconded the motion. The motion was approved unanimously.

III. Discussion

A. Nomination of new Commissioners/term extensions for existing members.

Taylor Martin will be rolling off the Commission creating a vacancy. Shelby Fiegel will renew her term, and Planning Director James Walden will reach out to David Carolina to determine his interest in renewing his term. The Commission may have two open vacancies and will be seeking interested citizens to fill them.

Nominations must be in writing on the nomination form found at <u>www.conwayarkansas.org</u>. Nominations will be accepted from the individual interested in serving or from another person wishing to nominate the individual. All interested parties must reside within the city limits of Conway and be willing to attend all meetings. Anyone who is interested in being a part of the commission may submit the nomination form by email to <u>felicia.rogers@conwayarkansas.gov</u> or <u>denise.hurd@conwayarkansas.gov</u> or at the drop box located at the Conway Municipal Building (1111 Main Street).

A motion to adjourn, made by Emily Walter and seconded by Liz Hamilton, was approved unanimously.