MINUTES OF THE CITY COUNCIL, CITY OF CONWAY, ARKANSAS

Conway, Arkansas Saturday 8:30 am January 29, 2011

On this date the City Council of the City of Conway, Arkansas met in special session. The following members being a quorum, were present and acting; Alderman Hawkins, Alderman Jones, Alderwoman Smith, Alderwoman Mehl, Alderwoman Whitmore, Alderman Jones, Alderman Vaught, and Alderman Grimes. Also, present and acting: Mayor Tab Townsell and Deputy City Attorney Adam Rose. City Attorney Michael Murphy and City Clerk Michael Garrett were not in attendance.

Call to Order Roll Call

- 1. Finance:
 - 1. Resolution to authorize Metroplan to assist the City of Conway with redistricting the voting wards.

R-11-03

Alderwoman Smith motioned to adopt the resolution. Alderwoman Whitmore seconded the motion. There was no discussion. The motion passed 8-0.

New Business

1. Discussion to establish the Conway Citizen Taskforce (CCT).

Lowell McClanahan, Interim CFO, agreed to serve as chairman of the task force to examine the city's operations and policies, and after a yearlong study, the taskforce will make reports and/or recommendations to the city council.

2. Discussion regarding a special election to extend the refunding of 2006 bonds.

The initial proposal/discussion among council was to extend payment of the 2006 bond issuance and use 1/8 of the sales tax to pay off the bonds, and rededicate 1/8 of the tax to help alleviate the city's current cash flow issues. The second proposal discussed, was to add a second option for voters to further extend the payoff of the bonds and use those funds to pay for future public safety needs, such as new police and fire vehicles. After some discussion Alderman Grimes motioned to extend the bonds with a single option to use 1/8 of the tax to pay off the bonds and rededicate 1/8 of the tax to help the city's general operations fund. Alderwoman Whitmore seconded the motion. The motion passed 5-4 with Mayor Townsell casting the tie breaking vote.

Adjournment

PASSED this 29th day of January 2011

APPROVED:

MINUTES OF THE CITY COUNCIL, CITY OF CONWAY, ARKANSAS

Mayor Tab Townsell

City Clerk Michael O. Garrett